You are there: Home » Why Unimore » Governing Bodies

University Governing Bodies

prof. Carlo A. Porro
In office from november, 1 2019
He heads the Academic Senate and the Board of Directors and is the legal representative of the University. He monitors the efficiency of the University facilities and services and ensures the teaching and research of the teaching staff as well as exercising disciplinary authority over staff and students.
Modena: Prof. Gianluca Marchi
Reggio Emilia: Prof. Giovanni Verzellesi
Rector's Delegates
List of Delegates
Academic Senate
The Academic Senate (art.12 of the University Statute) represents the academic community, coordinates the didactic and research needs of the scientific-disciplinary areas, helps to identify the general lines of the University's cultural policy, and makes proposals to the Board of Directors.
» Composition of the Academic Senate
Board of Directors
Collegial body composed of the Rector, representatives for professors, technical-administrative staff and students, and representatives for the economic and productive forces of local authorities. It has financial-administrative management duties.
» Composition of the Board of Directors
Heads of Department
View the list of Heads
Director General
Ing. Luca Chiantore
He is the head of the central offices. He coordinates the technical-administrative staff. The post of Director General is assigned by the Board of Directors on the recommendation of the Rector.

Advisory Committees

Student Conference
It includes 13 elective members, at least one per Department, elected by the students and 8 members by right. It ensures the participation of students in the University organisation. It expresses opinions on matters related to the organisation and development of teaching, student services, student fees, and the right to study.
» Composition of the Student Conference.
Technical-Administrative Staff Committee
It consists of members elected by the technical-administrative staff. It makes proposals for optimizing administrative procedures and staff management. It expresses opinions on matters related to staff: permanent employees, staff training, three-year development plans concerning administrative and service organisation.
Board of Auditors
It consists of 5 members appointed by the Academic Senate: one chosen from the Register of Official Auditors, two members considered renowned experts in the field, one appointed by the Italian Ministry of Economics and Finance and the other appointed by the Italian Ministry of Education, University and Research.

Other Bodies and Committees

University Evaluation Board / OIV
Collegial body made up of 7 members, of which at least two are nominated among scholars and experts in the field of evaluation, even in the non-academic fields. It deals with the internal evaluation of administrative management, didactic and research activities, support interventions for the right to education, verifying the correct use of public resources, research and didactic productivity, as well as the impartiality and good performance of administrative action, also through comparative analyses of costs and returns.
» Composition of the Evaluation Board
Mobbing Joint Committee
The committee was appointed in June 2005 in accordance with article No 20 of the National Work Collective Agreement.
View more information on the Mobbing Joint Committee